Chakra meditation, what are the different chakras, the seven chakras, what do the chakras do, what are chakras, how to heal chakras, how to balance chakras, meditation, mindfulness, what the different chakras means, the meanings of chakras, the symbols of

The Meanings and Symbols of The Seven Chakras

May 12, 2018

We all experience ‘off days’. You know, the kind of days where you simply can’t seem to get it together. Perhaps you had a bad sleep the night prior, are dealing with a heartache, are overly stressed about the things going on in your life. Or maybe you are simply finding it difficult to do the things you want to do, such as communicating your thoughts and feelings. Many of us simply accept these days as bad days, which is certainly important, but we often forget to think about why we feel so off and what we can do about it.

Well, it all comes down to your chakras; the energy sources that make up your being. When one or more of your energy sources are blocked, everything can feel off. Fortunately, chakra meditation can help remove those blocks, so your energy can continue to flow freely, along with all the benefits that follow.

But before jumping into chakra meditation, you must first know what the different chakras are, and we’ve got the scoop!

If you’re new to chakras and have no idea what they are or how they pertain to your mindfulness and meditation, definitely learn about The Ultimate Guide to Chakra Meditation.


The Seven Chakras

Your body is made up of seven different chakras, or rather, energy sources. Think of them like gears grinding together to make the motor (your body) work healthily and properly. If one gear is blocked, the rest follows suite.

Chakra meditation can help keep all of your “gears” and energy flowing freely, by bringing awareness and intention to each chakra. Now, what are those chakras, you ask? Keep reading!

1. The Root Chakra: “Muladhara”

Color: Red

The Root Chakra is located at the base of your spine, and is the foundation of your body’s energy flow. It’s where all of your energy is connected and grounded with the earth. As such, any “root” issues that pertain to your survival, such as stress about money, food and shelter, can build up in this area.  

2. The Sacral Chakra: “Svadhishana”

Color: Orange

The Sacral Chakra is located in your lower abdomen, just below your bellybutton. It’s all about your connection with yourself; your identity and what you intend on doing with it.  As such, it’s where your sense of well-being, creativity, pleasure and sexuality can be found, along with any issues you may be experiencing with them.

3. The Solar Plexus Chakra: “Manipura”

Color: Yellow

The Solar Plexus Chakra is located in your upper abdomen area. This is where the energies that pertain to your sense of being can be found, such as your self-confidence, your self-esteem and your self-worth. It’s where you will find your personal power, or any struggles you may be having with your identity.

4. The Heart Chakra: “Anahata”

Color: Green

The Heart Chakra is located in the center of your chest, just above your heart, hence the name. It’s all about your ability to love, both yourself and others. As such, heartaches no matter how big or small can cause this chakra to become blocked.

5. The Throat Chakra: “Vishuddha”

Color: Blue

The Throat Chakra is located in – you guessed it, in your throat. It’s the chakra that represents your ability to communicate and express yourself and true thoughts. If you’re struggling with your personal truths, such as speaking freely, honestly and openly, or expressing yourself this can cause this chakra to block energy flow.

6. The Third Eye Chakra: “Ajna”

Color: Indigo

The Third Eye Chakra is located in between your eyes, and represents your ability to see things beyond face value, or rather, beyond your 5 senses. It has a lot to do with your intuition, imagination and psychic energy, as well as your wisdom and ability to make decisions.

7. The Crown Chakra: “Sahaswara”

Color: Violet - White

The Crown Chakra is located at the top of your head and is the ultimate chakra that connects your mind, body and spirit. It represents complete spirituality, beauty and bliss.


Now that you know what the seven different chakras mean, it’s time to head on over to Awakened Self to start your inner journey towards self-discovery, and healing from the things that may be disrupting your energy flow.

Leave a comment

Comments will be approved before showing up.

Also in Awakened Self Mindfulness and Meditation Blog

A Journey to Embracing Self Love and Forgiveness
A Journey to Embracing Self Love and Forgiveness

May 19, 2019

Read about the importance of practicing and embracing self love and forgiveness.

Read More

5 Aura Cleansing Activities to Start Your Day
5 Aura Cleansing Activities to Start Your Day

May 12, 2019

Do these 5 activities every day to cleanse your aura.

Read More

Be Aware of These 3 Things Every Day
Be Aware of These 3 Things Every Day

May 05, 2019

Read about 3 things you should aware of everyday in order to live a more spiritually sound life.

Read More